March-ing on…

…so it’s only two months to go now, and progress is being made both on and off the bike.

Another steady month of cycling with more or less the same mileage recorded. I think it’s important for me to get used to staying consistent, it’s days of steady cycling that’s going to get me through the challenge rather than lots of effort over shorter distances.

I do need to step up the mileage I’m covering on a day and, with that in mind,  I’ve got a plan in place for the Easter Weekend (hopefully a full report to follow next week!) and I’ve also booked myself into the Essex Lambs’ Spring Lambs Sportive – a 93 mile loop around Essex – to try and get some quicker miles under my belt.

I’ve plotted out an initial route that I’m going to look at in more detail over the coming weeks, but it looks like a challenging but achievable one. There’s certainly going to be long days, but I’m also going to be taking in some nice sights over the twelve days which, as I’ve mentioned before, I think is important rather than simply going head-down and as fast as possible!

Rather than rely on paper maps alone I’ve bought myself a portable GPS. The Garmin etrex Vista HCx is designed for walkers primarily, but does fit onto the handlebars and offers an opportunity to pre-load your route and alert you as to when you’ve gone wrong. I’m getting to grips with it at the moment. As with all new ‘toys’, there’s a learning curve to get over and features to try and decipher but…once I’ve got through all of that I think it’s going to prove invaluable.

Finally…I know you’re itching to see the numbers for March? Okay. Eyes down, look in…

Mileage for Week (w/e 21st March) – 81 miles
Mileage for Week (w/e 28th March) – 18 miles

Mileage for March – 406 miles

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

