Gulp…

Hmm…it’s all a little more real now! Today’s the day the adventure starts with a sleeper train to catch this evening it’s just one more sleep until I’m on the journey proper. Eek!

Everything’s been bought and tested where necessary (Woolie Boolie socks are, quite simply, amazing!), everything fits into the bag I decided to use which is a huge relief, the route’s on the GPS and I’ve and cleaned and lubed up Daphne (stop sniggering at the back, it’s the bike!). Think I’m pretty much ready. Well, as ready as I can be. It’s only twelve days on the bike anyway, hey?!

Some people have asked why I’m travelling from Lands End to John O’Groats as opposed to the other way. Well, despite popular belief, it’s not actually uphill all the way but that’s not the only reason! Traditionally the winds around this time of year are South-Westerly in Great Britain so, in theory, there’s more chance of a tail-wind to help me on my journey. Added to this is the fact that the terrain in Devon and Cornwall is actually tougher than the Highlands with repetitive short, sharp climbs the norm rather than slow, undulating hills. Tackling this whilst fresh (ha!) sounds more appealing than knowing for the best part of a week and a half that it’s only going to get harder at the end!

So that’s why I’m going that way…I am starting to question why I’m going at all, but I’m sure that feeling will pass once I’m on the road… [cough cough].

Finally, a quick thank you to everybody that has sponsored me so far…it really is appreciated, acts as even more motivation for me to be crossing that line at the end of May and will help The Stroke Association with all their work. If you do want to sponsor me on my journey, the easiest way it through my JustGiving page. The link is http://www.justgiving.com/onemanandlejog .

Right, that’s it from me for now. See you for a pint in the John O’Groats House Hotel? Say four o’clock-ish on Wednesday 26th May…?

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Gulp…”

  1. Ben East Says:

    Well, good luck… particularly as I’m actually in Cornwall right now, with bike, and can attest to the evil, short sharp hills absolutely everywhere! Wished I’d known (which I should have) that you were doing it that way round – would have joined you for a bit of the Cornwall leg.
    Anyway, have fun,

  2. Daniel Says:

    Good luck Ant. I’ll chuck you some sponsor money when see you

  3. kane Says:

    Good luck and try not to lose anything else!! ( penzance train depot )

Leave a Reply

